STIGUI
V-266065CAT II — Medium severitySV-266065r1024596_rule

The F5 BIG-IP appliance must terminate shared/group account credentials when members leave the group.

Rule version F5BI-DM-300003 · STIG v1 · 2026-09-03

Discussion

A shared/group account credential is a shared form of authentication that allows multiple individuals to access the network device using a single account. If shared/group account credentials are not terminated when individuals leave the group, the user that left the group can still gain access even though they are no longer authorized. There may also be instances when specific user actions need to be performed on the network device without unique administrator identification or authentication. Examples of credentials include passwords and group membership certificates.

Check

From the BIG-IP GUI: 1. System. 2. Users. 3. User List.

From the BIG-IP console, type the following command:

tmsh list auth user

If there are any shared accounts that must not be active, this is a finding.

Fix

From the BIG-IP GUI: 1. System. 2. Users. 3. User List. 4. Check the box next to any shared/group accounts that must not be active. 5. Click "Delete". 6. Click "Delete" again on the next page.

From the BIG-IP console, type the following command:

tmsh delete auth user <username> tmsh save sys config

Identifiers

Group ID
V-266065
Group title
SRG-APP-000317-NDM-000282
Rule ID
SV-266065r1024596_rule
Check ID
C-69988r1023444_chk
Fix ID
F-69891r1023445_fix