STIGUI
V-223127CAT II — Medium severitySV-223127r879559_rule

Deleting websites that the user has visited must be disallowed.

Rule version DTBI770-IE11 · STIG v2 · 2023-12-01

Discussion

This policy prevents users from deleting the history of websites the user has visited. If you enable this policy setting, websites the user has visited will be preserved when the user clicks "Delete". If you disable this policy setting, websites that the user has visited will be deleted when the user clicks "Delete". If you do not configure this policy setting, the user will be able to select whether to delete or preserve websites the user visited when the user clicks "Delete".

Check

The policy value for Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Internet Explorer -> Delete Browsing History -> 'Prevent Deleting Web sites that the User has Visited' must be 'Enabled'. Procedure: Use the Windows Registry Editor to navigate to the following key: HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Privacy Criteria: If the value "CleanHistory" is REG_DWORD = 0, this is not a finding.

Fix

Set the policy value for Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Internet Explorer -> Delete Browsing History -> 'Prevent Deleting Web sites that the User has Visited' to 'Enabled'.

Identifiers

Group ID
V-223127
Group title
SRG-APP-000089
Rule ID
SV-223127r879559_rule
Check ID
C-24800r428931_chk
Fix ID
F-24788r428932_fix