STIGUI
V-251562CAT II — Medium severitySV-251562r1156569_rule

Firefox must prevent the user from quickly deleting data.

Rule version FFOX-00-000018 · STIG v6 · 2026-08-19

Discussion

There should not be an option for a user to "forget" work they have done. This is required to meet nonrepudiation controls.

Check

Enter "about:policies" in the browser address bar.

If "DisableForgetButton" is not displayed under Policy Name or the Policy Value is not "true", this is a finding.

Fix

Windows group policy: 1. Open the group policy editor tool with "gpedit.msc". 2. Navigate to Policy Path: Computer Configuration >> Administrative Templates >> Mozilla >> Firefox. Policy Name: Disable Forget Button Policy State: Enabled

macOS "plist" file: Add the following: <key>DisableForgetButton</key> <true/>

Linux "policies.json" file: Add the following in the policies section: "DisableForgetButton": true

Identifiers

Group ID
V-251562
Group title
SRG-APP-000326
Rule ID
SV-251562r1156569_rule
Check ID
C-54997r1156567_chk
Fix ID
F-54951r1156568_fix