Rule version SLES-15-040061 · STIG v2 · 2026-08-20
A locally logged-on user, who presses Ctrl-Alt-Delete when at the console, can reboot the system. If accidentally pressed, as could happen in the case of a mixed OS environment, this can create the risk of short-term loss of availability of systems due to unintentional reboot. In the graphical user interface environment, risk of unintentional reboot from the Ctrl-Alt-Delete sequence is reduced because the user will be prompted before any action is taken.
Note: If a graphical user interface is not installed, this requirement is Not Applicable.
Verify the SUSE operating system is not configured to reboot the system when Ctrl-Alt-Delete is pressed in the graphical user interface.
Check that the dconf setting was disabled to allow the Ctrl-Alt-Delete sequence in the graphical user interface with the following command:
Check the default logout key sequence:
> sudo gsettings get org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.media-keys logout ''
Check that the value is not writable and cannot be changed by the user:
> sudo gsettings writable org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.media-keys logout false
If the logout value is not [''] and the writable status is not false, this is a finding.
Configure the system to disable the Ctrl-Alt-Delete sequence for the graphical user interface.
Create a database to contain the systemwide setting (if it does not already exist) with the following steps:
1. Create a user profile and with the listed content:
/etc/dconf/profile/user user-db:user system-db:local
2. Create the following directories:
> sudo mkdir -p /etc/dconf/db/local.d/ > sudo mkdir -p /etc/dconf/db/local.d/locks/
3. Add the following files with the listed content:
/etc/dconf/db/local.d/01-fips-settings [org/gnome/settings-daemon/plugins/media-keys] logout=''
/etc/dconf/db/local.d/locks/01-fips-locks /org/gnome/settings-daemon/plugins/media-keys/logout
4. Update the dconf database:
> sudo dconf update